New Inspiration


I have been making cones for a week now, long into the night, every night.  They will be ready for soaking by next week when they are finally completely dry.

Many hopes and dreams were rolled into these new fragrances and cones, and I just wanted to share with you the inspiration for each of them.  I only pray that my hands and my nose are worthy.   My hands are very sore after making all these cones!  I can hardly type.  My arthritis is my reminder of how imperfect I am.

The following are how the labels for each will read, but they are the sayings of holy men that I have held captive in my heart for a long while now.  I hope these sayings will bless your life too.

Caspian Caravan

Isaiah 60:6

“The multitude of camels shall cover thee, the camels of Midian and Ephah; all they from Sheba shall come: they shall bring gold and incense; and they shall shew forth the praises of the LORD.”

“ The man who follows Christ in solitary mourning is greater than he
who praises Christ amid the congregation of men.” St. Isaac the Syrian

Bedu Balm

Bedu means “one who lives in the desert”. The desert is not about geography. It is about the uncharted landscape in our own hearts, that keeps us from God.–BPI

“As a pilot calls on winds and a storm-tossed mariner looks
homeward, so the times call on you to win your way to God. As
God’s athlete, be sober; the stake is immortality and eternal
life.”  St. Ignatius the God-bearer

Cedars of Lebanon

Ps. 92″The righteous flourish like the palm tree and grow like the cedar in Lebanon” (Psalm 92:12).

“At the Last Judgment the righteous will be recognized only by
their humility and their considering themselves worthless, and not
by good deeds, even if they have done them. This is the true
attitude.”  Holy New Hieromartyr Barlaam

African Rivers:

“In Africa, I saw how true the Gospel of Christ is! Everything that He said about the possession of men by the demons, I saw first hand. However, the Living and True God is more powerful than Satan and all his servants. Let it be understood, however, that true missionary-apostolic work cannot be carried out in Africa if one does not decide to leave his bones there.”

Blessed Cosmas of Grigoriu

The Oasis....our Lord Jesus Christ, who is everywhere present and fills all things

The Oasis....our Lord Jesus Christ, who is everywhere present and fills all things

4 Responses to “New Inspiration”

  1. desertseeker Says:

    I admire your sacrifice of love. I know the ones who receive those cones will be blessed by what you and your Savior have put into them.

    The last two passages grabbed my heart…the humility and sacrifice. They inspire me and show me how far I have to go.

    Thank you for sharing, Columbina! Your blog is always an encouragement to me.

    (Burned some more iona last night. Makes me think of heaven.)

  2. sergiusbob Says:

    You are so beautiful! Can I just say that?

    What fragrance rises from the pages of your pen and to this we are to add?

    I pray and I pray for you my dear. My mom had terrible arthritis, I can only imagine what you’re dealing with.

    As I’ve said before, your reward is in Heaven. Part of mine is just calling you friend.

    I love you, so much…in Christ always,
    SB

  3. I have many thoughts every time I am blessed to read your blog, my dearest, dearest sister of the desert, but I want to leave you with one: I love you. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your life. I love you.

  4. Reconversion Says:

    My Dearest Suzanne,

    This is wonderful news! I am so glad. This has been a true labor of love. I am so thankful for this work that you are doing.

    You know what else this means? I get to work on the website some more! YAY! That makes me happy. This little service I can do for you makes me so happy. Let me know as soon as things are ready for addition ot the site and I will get right on it. HOPEFULLY the next update of your site will be done in our new home. We will know for sure on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

