Squeezing into the mould….


got up early this morning to put the finishing touches on the moulds for the new cones.  (Yes, all you stick incense haters, I am working on it as promised and you shall have your cone incense by mid-March or so.)    As I was working on the shape, trying to get it perfect,  I started to laugh thinking about how up until 12 years ago, I would never have even thought about trying to fit myself into one. At that point, if someone had suggested it, I would have laughed.

But now, my life is all about trying to squeeze myself into the mould God has for me.  At first, years ago, I thought it was torture.  And in fact it was.  In some ways it still is.  But I found more freedom inside that mould that I ever did out of it.  The world really doesn’t understand that and they make fun of it, but the mold they offer is far more restricting, far more upsetting and troublesome to the soul.  I realize now, after all these years, why the world’s mould is so awful:  it has an END.  If you are in it, it has sides, and there’s no way to break through it, and when your life is over, that’s it.   You’re just stuck, and you’re just another “brick in the wall”.  (Pink Floyd!)

Our Lord gave us His example :

John 10

For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again.  No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again

We, who have no authority  still even have the freedom our Lord gives us in Him.  We make choices — the choices we make ultimately, are what decides our freedom in Christ, or our prison in this world.   So likewise, “no one has taken it (my freedom) from me, but I lay it down on my own intitiative.  I have authority (freedom of choice) to lay it down. ”

When the world makes fun of us for being Christians,  they are denying us our freedom.  They are trying to make our choices for us.  But our Lord in His mercy, and goodness, declares us free.  And “He who is free in Christ, is free indeed!”

freedom1

One Response to “Squeezing into the mould….”

  1. desertseeker Says:

    That’s good, Suzanne, and a truth I often think about. God writes our stories, sets the boundaries, makes up the rules. But what liberating “chains”! His mould is a mould of mercy. As your picture shows, His mould, His chains, set us free to really be. Thank you for that reminder.

Leave a Reply

